The offseason.

Leave a comment

January 3, 2012 by danolaurel

Before I discovered twitter I figured nothing went on in the world of baseball.  I mean, I knew high-head office stuff took place because a lot of teams always looked different by the next season, but I guess I thought it was just magic.

Since following all these reporter types online I’ve been sucked into following every news story, trade news, team swapping, firing, etc, etc.  It’s a lot of work that goes on.  Then you have MLB Network that is broadcasting from the Winter Meetings.  Not too sure how the team officials feel about all the broadcasting from their turf.

What I find amazing is how many ‘sources’ there are.  If you’re in a private meeting, shouldn’t you have to keep your mouth shut?  Doesn’t seem like anyone has any resepect for their jobs, teams. Every 5 seconds another talking head mentions, ‘ Well I’ve just got word from one of my sources…”.

There are many days between off-season and spring training.  Normally I never notice, but now it’s getting my antsy.  Planning the games I want to attend and making sure I’m watching the teams that will be together next season.  There are also many events planned for this 2012 season, being the Astros’ 50th anniversary.

It’s a long road, but I just remember there are actually more things going on, and that I love her more than baseball.

Leave a Reply

